I’m a bit late with this, but it’s been 2 years since J joined the Army. I cannot believe that it has only been 2 years! I swear it feels like at least 5 – not sure if this means that time is going fast or slow? hmmmm

I think it’s just that SO much has happened in that short amount of time, and it feels like we’ve come so far. Pre-Army life feels like a completely different life altogether, and I guess it really is.

I can’t really speak for J, who I’m sure has learnt just as much, and grown/changed just as much, but in the last two years I can say that I have changed. I’ve grown up, become more confident in my ability to take care of myself and my family, become more independent, gotten used to saying hello and goodbye to my husband frequently and on short notice, and I’ve had to put myself out there in order to make friends (something I’m very uncomfortable with).

This life has been hectic, infuriating, devastating, frustrating, and empowering.

I still don’t know how long we will remain in the Army, or where our journey will take us, but despite all the bad; last minute goodbyes, being apart a lot, interruptions to our personal life, etc; I am thankful for having experienced this life, and for all the good that it provides as well; seeing new places, housing, being a part of something important.

These 2 years have been the most challenging, and most rewarding of my life so far, and I’m really looking forward to what the rest of our time in the Army (be that 2 years or 50) brings!

